Connect with us

Auto Racing

Bowman Gray Racing Recap – Week of July 30th 2022

bowman gray

The night would kick off with the Law Offices of John Barrow Street Stock Series. Gerald Robinson Jr. would start on the pole, but it wouldn’t take long until Billy Gregg would get under Robinson, sending Robinson spinning. On the restart, Bryant Robertson would then take the lead, followed by Billy Gregg, Christian Joyce, and Brian Wall. On lap 18, while Robertson was still in the lead, heading to turn 4 of the final lap, Nate Gregg would give a shot to the bumper of Robertson sending Robertson around. That would give Nate Gregg the lead and the checkered flag. His father Billy Gregg finished second, followed by Christian Joyce third and Brian Wall fourth.

Lee Jeffreys won his first Brad’s Golf Cars Modified Series race in three years in the first 25-lap race, as Jeffreys, who started on the pole for the first 25-lap race and led wire-to-wire, defeating 11-time and defending champion Tim Brown. It was Jeffreys’s first win since July 27, 2019. Chris Fleming finished third and Burt Myers was fourth. Jeffreys would draw 14 in the “Madhouse Scramble,” which inverted the field in the second race at 14.

Amber Lynn would win the pole for the Colors Edge 100 but after the redraw, Tommy Neal and Chase Robertson led the field to Green. Tommy would lead the first 53 laps until a nudge from Amber Lynn and contact from Michael Adams. Amber Lynn would then take the lead from Tommy. Amber would go on to claim the victory in Saturday’s Colors Edge 100, holding off the young rookie sensation Riley Neal who was involved in an earlier wreck. Neal would battle back through the field to finish 2nd with a blown motor.

With the win, Amber Lynn set the record for the most wins by a female in Bowman Gray history. Lynn has 12 combined victories in the McDowell Heating & Air Sportsman Series and the Law Offices of John Barrow Street Stock Series, surpassing the record previously set by Susan Kimel.

Justin Taylor was third and Spencer Martin was fourth.

After the Madhouse Scramble Mike Speeney, a native of Newton, Pa., was sent to the pole with Brian Loftin (who would be subbing for Zach Brewer) starting on the outside front row.

Speeney would be able to hold on to the lead wire to wire. Speeney crossed the finish line first and was originally awarded the checkered flag. But after Speeney failed post race technical inspection, giving Loftin who originally finished runner-up to Speeney the win. It’s Loftin’s first win at Bowman Gray since April 27, 2019. Daniel Beeson ended up second after the disqualification, followed by Jeremy Gerstner third and points-leader Brandon Ward fourth

In the Q104.1 Stadium Stock Series, Blaine Curry claimed the victory for second time this season due to time limit. Curry would grab the lead from Austin Cates on the first lap and would not look back. This race saw a handful of cautions. Matt Alley finished second, Isaac Harris was third, and Justin Owens was fourth.

Racing returns next Saturday with the featured race being in the Brad’s Golf Cars Modified Series — the Great Clips 100. The Great Clips 100 is the final 100-lap race of the season in the Modified Series. It’s also the final Fans’ Challenge race of the season, meaning that the top four qualifiers for the 100-lap race have the choice of going to the back of the field for a chance at big bonus money if they end up finishing in the top four.


race one
175Lee Jeffreys
283Tim Brown
316Chris Fleming
41Burt Myers
522Jonathan Brown
64Jason Myers
704Brandon Ward
869John Holleman
951Junior Snow
1055Jeremy Gerstner
115Randy Butner
1244Daniel Beeson
1379Brian Loftin
1437Mike Speeney
1578Josh Kosser
1699William Smith
1705Bussy Beavers
1877Susan Harwell
1941Cory Lovette
2068Eddie Collins
2114Greg Butcher
2288Dennis Jerrett
race two
179Brian Loftin
244Daniel Beeson
355Jeremy Gerstner
404Brandon Ward
54Jason Myers
622Jonathan Brown
71Burt Myers
816Chris Fleming
983Tim Brown
1075Lee Jeffreys
115Randy Butner
1278Josh Kosser
1399William Smith
1469John Holleman
1551Junior Snow
1677Susan Harwell
1705Bussy Beavers
1868Eddie Collins
1941Cory Lovette
2014Greg Butcher
Colors Edge Sportsman 100
12Amber Lynn
207Riley Neal
312Justin Taylor
45Spencer Martin
519Michael Adams
621Tommy Neal
703Sterling Plemmons
88Casey Kepley Jr
96Kirk Sheets
1054Braden Mills
1131Chase Robertson
1230Blake Shupe
1338Mitch Gales
1455Zack Ore
1581Zack Clifton
1606Chase Lewis
1708Jacob Creed
187Connor Branch
1992Kyle Southern
2022Wesley Thompson
2151Austin Taylor
2202Terry Thompson
128Nate Gregg
298Billy Gregg
31Christian Joyce
422Brian Wall
513Kevin Gilbert
624Austin Jones
702David Creed
840Taylor Robbins
999Bryan Sykes
107Zack Staley
118Bryan Sykes Jr
1279Conner Shaw
1369Jordan Atkins
1472Bryant Robertson
1510Craig Hartless
1670Cale Martin
1768Gerald Robinson Jr
1897Charlie Gregg
1921Wes Glascoe
116Blaine Curry
274Matt Alley
359Isaac Harris
454Justin Owens
524A.J. Sanders
646Wyatt Sapp
751Andrew Cates
833DJ Dean
931Kyler Staley
1012Levi Holt
118Stephen Sanders
1243Brandon Brendle
1328Robert Mabe
1403Cody Gum
1527Austin Cates
1625Matt Goodwin
1705Victor Flores
1817Andy Southern
1914Ken Bridges
2069Brandon Crotts





NFL/Carolina Panthers

More in Auto Racing

%d bloggers like this: