Connect with us

Auto Racing

Bowman Gray Racing Recap – Week Ending Sat May 20th 2023

Another Saturday night at Bowman Gray is in the books as week six wraps up with a crash fest.

As the evening would begin with the Stadium Stock series for their 15 lapper, it didn’t take long for Chuck Wall to move up and take the lead in the in the early stages of the race. Wall would hold on to win his third race of the season.

This win would be Wall’s 28th career win in the Stadium Stock Series. Robert Strmiska finished second after starting the race towards the back of the field. A.J. Sanders finished third, followed by Isaac Harris in fourth and Brandon Brendle fifth.

Up next, on the docket would be the first of two Twin 20s for Sportsman. Riley Neal sat on the pole and led up until Zack Ore would get by him on lap two. Ore would then go on to lead the remainder of the race and pick up his first win of the season, and twelve of his Bowman Gray Sportsman career. Riley Neal second, Sterling Plemmons third, Chase Robertson was fourth, and Kirk Sheets was fifth.

Now, time for the first of two twin 25 lappers as Tim Brown would start on the pole after picking up his second pole of the season. He then would go on to lead flag to flag holding off Chris Fleming. This was Browns second win in three weeks after going winless last season, also this was his 96th career win just four shy of the 100 mark. Lee Jeffreys third, John Holleman IV fourth, and points leader Burt Myers fifth.

Sportsman would return to the track after the skid race for their second race of the evening. As this race had seven cautions, including four in the first five laps.

Tommy Neal would find a way to hold off the hard charging Michael Adams and Chase Robertson for the 56th time in his career.

It’s his first win of the season, and first since his return to the Series after racing earlier this season in the Brad’s Golf Cars Modified Series.

Neal started on the pole, and would lead flag to flag. But this win wasn’t easy as the race was filled with cautions, Michael Adams held on for second the remaining two laps to finish runner-up behind Neal. Chase Robertson finished third, Zack Ore fourth, and Riley Neal finished fifth.

Modified’s second race would follow as it would be a Speeney brothers front row with Dan starting on the pole and brother Mike second.

Dan Speeney would go on to lead flag to flag holding on his brother Mike and a fast Jason Myers. Dan began to pull away once Myers and Mike started racing for second place. Mike kept the spot and went on to finish runner up to his brother.

Dan Speeney’s win makes him the the 141st driver to win a featured event at Bowman Gray Stadium. That adds him to the list of legendary winners, such as Richard Petty, Glen Wood, Ralph Earnhardt, Bobby Allison, and Junior Johnson.

Jason Myers finished third, Junior Snow fourth, and Holleman was fifth.

The final race of the night was the Street Stock Series, Jordan Atkins started on the pole. As it didn’t take long for Brad Lewis to take the lead and pull away to end the strain of bad luck for him. Lewis picked up his second win of the season. Cody Gum finished runner-up, followed by Donnie Martin third, Kevin Gilbert fourth , and Cale Martin fifth.

Next week, there will double points in all four series, and the night will be highlighted by a 100-lap race in the McDowell Heating & Air Sportsman Series. The Sportsman cars will qualify for position and use the Traffic Control Safety Services Double-File Restart Cone,

In addition, there will be the Thunder Road Grill 50, which is a 50-lap race in the Law Offices of John Barrow Street Stock Series, the longest race in that series this season. That 50-lap race was postponed from May 13.

There will be twin 25-lap races in the Brad’s Golf Cars Modified Series, which will use the “Madhouse Scramble” following the first race. The winning driver of the first race will draw a number — 8, 10, 12, 14, or 16 — and that number will invert the field from that point.

There will also be one or two 15-lap races int he Q104.1 Stadium Stock Series.

Gates open at 6 pm on Saturday night, and the first race is at 8pm. Adult admission for Saturday is just $12. For children 6-11, it’s only $2 and children under 5 are free.

Starting this year, you are able to get your tickets online to beat the lines at the gates.

If you can’t be here to witness all the action, make sure you check out FloRacing for the live streamed action!

Follow us on Social media for the latest news on Bowman Gray Racing!

Facebook: SportsCarolina Monthly

Twitter: SportsCarolina Monthly and Cody Heacox


 race one
183Tim Brown
216Chris Fleming
375Lee Jeffreys
469John Holleman IV
51Burt Myers
691Junior Snow
704Brandon Ward
84Jason Myers
95Randy Butner
1037Mike Speeney
1144Daniel Beeson
1210Dan Speeney
139Brian Loftin
1499William Smith
153Danny Propst
167Susan Harwell
1789Eddie Collins
186Greg Butcher
1988Brandon Butner
2014Cory Lovette
 race two
110Dan Speeney
237Mike Speeney
34Jason Myers
491Junior Snow
569John Holleman IV
616Chris Fleming
71Burt Myers
804Brandon Ward
975Lee Jeffreys
1083Tim Brown
119Brian Loftin
125Randy Butner
133Danny Propst
1444Daniel Beeson
1599William Smith
167Susan Harwell
176Greg Butcher
1814Cory Lovette
1988Brandon Butner
2089Eddie Collins
 race one
155Zack Ore
207Riley Neal
303Sterling Plemmons
431Chase Robertson
56Kirk Sheets
628Nate Gregg
72Amber Lynn
822Wesley Thompson
919Michael Adams
1012Justin Taylor
1123Billy Gregg
1251Austin Taylor
1338Mitch Gales
1421Tommy Neal
1515T. Dawson
167Connor Branch
1713Tucker Myers
 race two
121Tommy Neal
219Michael Adams
331Chase Robertson
455Zack Ore
507Riley Neal
62Amber Lynn
712Justin Taylor
86Kirk Sheets
903Sterling Plemmons
1015T. Dawson
1151Austin Taylor
1238Mitch Gales
1322Wesley Thompson
1423Billy Gregg
1528Nate Gregg
1613Tucker Myers
177Connor Branch
116Brad Lewis
203Cody Gum
300Donnie Martin
413Kevin Gilbert
570Cale Martin
624Austin Jones
71Christian Joyce
899Bryan Sykes Jr
923Jordan Atkins
1010Kendell Craig Hartless
119Jim Shoaf
1219Robbie White
1325Cooper Lowe
144Emilee Lewis
1521Wes Glascoe
1606Chase Lewis
1730Zachary Cogar
181Chuck Wall
290Robert Strmiska
324A.J. Sanders
459Isaac Harris
543Brandon Brendle
616Blaine Curry
78Stephen Sanders
854Justin Owens
948Kenny Flippin
1027Austin Cates
1118Billy Andrews
1225Matt Goodwin
1351Andrew Cates
1455Jeremy Smith
1569Brandon Crotts
1646Wyatt Sapp
1774Matt Alley
1826Jody Tingler
1956Andrew Mason
2031Kyler Staley
2114Ken Bridges





NFL/Carolina Panthers

More in Auto Racing

%d bloggers like this: