Connect with us

Auto Racing

Burt Myers wins 10th Modified title in Season Finale at Bowman Gray – Season Finale Recap

bowman gray

Burt Myers had a decision to make in the late stages of the Carolina Farm Credit Modified race: Go for a victory that had eluded him since 2012 or focus on a tenth Bowman Gray title.

“I talked it over with my guys and we decided to not take any chances,” said Myers, whose third place finish in the August 17 finale was enough for the 2019 Bowman Gray Stadium Modified championship.

A late crash by points rival Tim Brown cemented the decision by Myers to willingly gave up the race lead at lap 154 and slide back to third. James Civali assumed the lead and held it for a short stint until Brandon Ward grabbed control in the race’s final lap (extended from 150 to 166 laps due to late caution flags).

It was a career-best fourth victory of the 2019 season for Winston-Salem resident Ward and his third in the past four editions of the season finale.

Myers led the division with five 2019 triumphs, but admitted he was fine foregoing the chance at victory number six.

“James Civali had pitted and put new tires on his car and I knew it would be too much for us,” said Myers after securing his fourth straight Bowman Gray title. “I banked on the championship at that point and it paid off for us.”

Tommy Neal won a 40-lap Sportsman race as fourth finisher Justin Taylor secured his first Bowman Gray championship. It was Neal’s fourth victory of the season on the way to second in the points.

Taylor said he “might just stay up all night” celebrating a track title. He had an incredible 17 top five finishes in 19 starts and three victories.

Street Stock division points leader Jacob Creed struggled in a 20-lap race won by his father David Creed. The younger Creed eventually dropped out with a flat tire. That opened the door for Billy Gregg to overcome a 14-point deficit and capture his second title at the Madhouse.

Gregg had to bulldoze his way past a team car of points rival Jeremy Warren in the final lap to secure his first title since 2012. “Warren’s bunch had that car (driven by Austin Harris) here for one reason only — to prevent me from winning the championship,” said Gregg. “I did what I had to do.”

Brandon Brendle won a 15-lap race for the Stadium Stock four-cylinder machines. Chuck Wall’s eleventh top five finish of the seasin was enough for him to secure a fourth Bowman Gray title in that division.

“It is so tough to win races over here,” said Lexington’s Wall. ” It is really an honor to be the champion again.”

Wall was the point leader entering the finale, just eight ahead of rival AJ Sanders on a night where double points were awarded in all four divisions.

“I was just trying to run a clean race and keep that 24 car (Sanders) behind me,” said Wall. “It’s Bowman Gray and you never know what might happen.”

Sanders and Wall will continue a friendly rivalry as they battle for the Ace Speedway Mini Stock championship on August 30. Both men are scheduled to appear on an upcoming edition of the Triad Racing Podcast.

2019 RACE RESULTS – August 17

MODIFIED: Brandon Ward
STADIUM STOCK: Brandon Brendle

final 2019 points

11Burt Myers649
279James Civali626
383Tim Brown606
404Brandon Ward554
522Jonathan Brown549
64Jason Myers517
718Daniel Yates508
875Lee Jeffreys507
916Chris Fleming502
105Randy Butner484
1153John Smith437
1244Daniel Beeson324
1365Danny Bohn310
1481Zack Clifton275
158Darin Redmon257
1641Chris Williams225
1777Susan Harwell214
183Danny Propst202
1924Andrew Harrah192
2051Drew Moffitt149
2140Frank Fleming132
2278Jody Fritts132
2366Ronnie Clifton130
2424Carson Ware111
252Joseph Brown98
2631Zach Brewer98
2712Dean Ward87
2811Brian Loftin78
2969John Holleman71
3034George Brunnhoelzl III71
3151Bobby Measmer Jr.64
3278Bradley McCaskill62
3330Steven Lane48
3450Michael Clifton46
3500Kevin Orlando40
3615Jeremy Gerstner38
3717Zack Staley38
3836Cory Lovette38
3976William Smith37
406Marty Butner35
4107Johnny Sutton24
422Gabriel Saavedra24
4336Bobby Labonte23
4473Andy Jankowiak20
4533Jason Tutterow18
4678Stan Welborn12
4758Jody Utt4
4836Marty Edwards4
4930Brennan Poole4
112Justin Taylor708
221Tommy Neal676
37Dylan Ward658
419Michael Adams620
592Kyle Southern613
631Chase Robertson531
722Wesley Thompson509
82Amber Lynn502
955Zack Ore485
104John Holleman477
1102Derek Stoltz410
1230Blake Shupe404
1307Kevin Neal344
143Jeff Garrison300
1503Sterling Plemmons297
164Spencer Martin272
1738Mitch Gales265
1850Ross Dalton261
1917Michael Caudill195
2056Dale Fishel182
2180Brian Shupe164
2268Robbie Brewer133
2366Tim Giesen127
2414Terry Thompson99
250Steve Holleman88
269Ryan Dixon85
2727Coy Beard83
285Bubba Tilley81
2971D.J. Moore77
3025Matt Bodenheimer74
3111Wayne Hill68
3271Austin Taylor34
331Nick Wall30
342Mike Staley26
3514Brandon Flowers8
198Billy Gregg690
297Jeremy Warren688
308Jacob Creed656
402David Creed642
522Brian Wall610
619Corey Rose604
71Christian Joyce596
899Bryan Sykes540
969Gerald Robinson Jr518
1028Nate Gregg488
1140Taylor Robbins462
1216Brad Lewis460
1333Dennis Lanier422
142Willie Wall410
1513Kevin Gilbert350
166Austin Powell306
1762Kevin Hedgecock214
1823Andy Spears188
1931Brandon Butner166
2029Bradley Potts162
2152Fletcher Whaley126
2212Nick Wall114
2309Trevor Ward80
243Brian Rose74
2500Donnie Martin68
2611Hunter Hutchens66
2791Austin Harris58
280Shane Tuttle56
293Jeff Potts32
3015Clay Jones32
3166Tim Gieson16
3218Chad Brooks12
181Chuck Wall666
224A.J. Sanders650
343Brandon Brendle628
41Grayson Keaton600
547Tyler McDonald586
601Chris Allison520
716Stephen Sanders498
851Junior Snow496
980Luke Smith480
1069Brandon Crotts452
113K.C. Myers446
1260Brad Mickalowski442
1368Tyler Bush400
1427Austin Cates396
1510David Hopkins362
1676Billy Cameron Jr358
1744Justin Whitaker358
1833DJ Dean352
1903Cody Gum350
2040Kenny Dixon346
2114Ken Bridges346
2231Junior Smith338
2320Scarlett Dahmer312
2454Justin Owens310
2523Blake Spears302
265Joel Stewart288
2728Robert Mabe284
2837Josh Osborne274
2934Steven Stoneman274
3031Kyler Staley268
3139Patrick Mullen240
3270Jeffery Burrow220
3374Matt Alley202
345Connor Keaton188
3522Adam Thomas186
3635Johnny Baker166
3711Chad Hopkins152
3888Mickey Tuttle150
3918Jonathan Simacek146
4049Shawn Hayes140
412Jason Everhart134
4225Justin Emory130
4330Jeremy Seeley126
4401Derek Taylor122
4561Braxton McDaniel116
460Carlos Clifton110
4740Scott Dixon106
484Jeff Houston88
494Andy Southern80
504Tim Giesen76
5115Dwayne Bryant58
5200Daryl Bryant50
539Robbie Shrewsbury50
5404Josh Broome46
554Doug Rembold44
5621Shane Tuttle42
574Brandon Bassett40
584Tommy Stewart40
590Shane Clifton38
6029Cody Arrington38
6138Eddie Hunter38
6209Shane Canipe32
634Andrew Sanders30
6461Jason Keaton28
654Mark Baker28
6629Steve Hauser26
6772Dennis Weaver26
6821Peyton Johnson26
694Matt Smith22
7099Blake Walker20
7118Kenny Flippen20
724Roy Cunningham18
7357Ronald Spach14

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply


ACC Basketball

Carolina Panthers/NFL

Top Posts

More in Auto Racing