Connect with us

Auto Racing

Bowman Gray Racing Recap – Week of June 25th 2022

The upcoming holiday break couldn’t have come at a better time for some drivers, as Week Eight has officially wrapped up in front of about 11,000 fans. The Madhouse would witness two winless droughts come to an end, two drivers continuing their hot streaks of wins and tension between two popular drivers after contact for the lead.

Street Stock series would kick things off first, as Jordan Atkins would start on the pole along side Bryan Sykes. Atkins would choose to start in the back, moving Christian Joyce to the front row. Five caution flags later, Joyce would be able to lead flag to flag and hold on to win for the fourth time of his career, beating a hard charging Billy Gregg. Nate Gregg finished third, Bryant Robertson fourth and fifth Bryan Sykes.

The first of two modified races would come up next. Burt Myers would start on the pole and lead flag to flag to pick his first win of the season to end his 364 day drought. This win also gives Myers at least one win per season since 1998. Tim Brown finished second, Jason Myers third, Brandon Ward fourth, Jonathan Brown fifth.

Next up would be the Main Event, the Sportsman 100 lapper. The night would kick off with points leader Tommy Neal having to go to a backup car after a problem with his engine. Gray Garrison, the track promoter, said Neal’s engine wasn’t illegal, but Neal had to make the change.

Instead of his usual 21 car, Neal would get in the 08 usually driven by Jac Creed and Dylan Ward.

Now for the action, Justin Taylor and Wesley Thompson would start on the front row.

But it would be Michael Adams who would win the race, after he would grab the lead on lap 57. Adams had to outlast Wesley Thompson. Adams would pull away to defeat Thompson. Zack Clifton was third, Zack Ore was fourth, and Justin Taylor was fifth.

In the second of the modified races, Zach Brewer would be inverted to first after Burt Myers drew 10th in the first race. John Holleman would take the lead early after Brewer went into a spin while leading. Holleman would lead until lap 22, when contact occurred between Jonathan Brown and Holleman, causing Holleman to spin and collect Junior Snow, while Brown would be able to continue the race. While under caution Holleman would walk over to Brown’s car and have a brief discussion with him and reach in and grab his key away. Once Jonathan Brown was able to get it fired back up he would go on to win the race for his fourth win of the season. Brandon Ward, the points leader would go on to finish second, Chris Fleming third, Tim Brown fourth, Jeremy Gestner fifth.

Next up would be Stadium Stock, as this past weeks Q&A driver Brandon Crotts would start on the pole. Crotts would lead a handful of laps until the fast Brandon Brendle would get by him and not look back to pick up his third win of the season. Crotts finished second, Blaine Curry third, AJ Sanders fourth, and Chuck Wall fifth.

Bowman Gray Stadium won’t be racing this Saturday in celebration of the Fourth of July weekend. Racing returns Saturday, July 9. The racing that night will be highlighted by the second 100-lap race of the season the Brad’s Golf Cars Modified Series presented by Real Rock 105.7. In that race, the Fans’ Challenge will be in effect, meaning the top four qualifiers in the Modified Series will have the opportunity to take the Fans’ Challenge and go to the back of the field. If any of those drivers finish in the top four they will split a $6,000 prize pool.

In addition to the 100-lap Modified race on July 9, there will be double points in all four divisions. There will also be twin 20-lap races in the McDowell Heating & Air Sportsman series, a 20-lap race in the Law Offices of John Barrow Street Stock Series, and one or two 15-lap races in the Q104.1 Stadium Stock Series.

Tune into The Pit Stop every Monday night at 8pm on WTOB 980am/96.7fm to hear from your favorite drivers from Bowman Gray!


race one
11Burt Myers
283Tim Brown
34Jason Myers
404Brandon Ward
522Jonathan Brown
65Randy Butner
769John Holleman
844Daniel Beeson
916Chris Fleming
1079Zach Brewer
1155Jeremy Gerstner
1251Junior Snow
1388Dan Speeney
1412Dean Ward
153Danny Propst
1675Lee Jeffreys
1799William Smith
1805Bussy Beavers
1989Brian Loftin
2077Al Hill
216Greg Butcher
2214Cory Lovette
2388Ryan Robertson
race two
122Jonathan Brown
204Brandon Ward
316Chris Fleming
483Tim Brown
555Jeremy Gerstner
644Daniel Beeson
779Zach Brewer
85Randy Butner
94Jason Myers
101Burt Myers
1151Junior Snow
1299William Smith
1369John Holleman
1475Lee Jeffreys
1505Bussy Beavers
1612Dean Ward
1714Cory Lovette
1877Al Hill
206Greg Butcher
2689Ryan Robertson
Sportsman 100
119Michael Adams
222Wesley Thompson
381Zack Clifton
455Zack Ore
512Justin Taylor
631Chase Robertson
75Spencer Martin
88Casey Kepley Jr
938Mitch Gales
1030Blake Shupe
117Connor Branch
126Kirk Sheets
1308Tommy Neal
1454Braden Mills
152Amber Lynn
1607Riley Neal
1792Kyle Southern
1802Terry Thompson
11Christian Joyce
298Billy Gregg
328Nate Gregg
472Bryant Robertson
599Bryan Sykes
640Taylor Robbins
797Chris Allison
815Nick Wall
924Austin Jones
1068Gerald Robinson Jr
1102David Creed
1210Kendell Craig Hartless
1369Jordan Atkins
1413Kevin Gilbert
1500Donnie Martin
167Zack Staley
1764Steven Truell
188Bryan Sykes Jr
1916Brad Lewis
2022Brian Wall
2106Chase Lewis
15 laps
143Brandon Brendle
269Brandon Crotts
316Blaine Curry
424A.J. Sanders
581Chuck Wall
646Wyatt Sapp
78Stephen Sanders
839Patrick Mullen
954Justin Owens
1027Austin Cates
1174Matt Alley
1212Levi Holt
1333DJ Dean
1448Junior Smith
1503Cody Gum
167Joel Stewart
1731Kyler Staley
1825Matt Goodwin
1951Andrew Cates
2040Kenny Dixon
2114Ken Bridges
2271Dillon Freeman
2305Victor Flores


Carolina Panthers/NFL


Sports Podcasts


ACC Football

Top Posts

More in Auto Racing

%d bloggers like this: