Connect with us

Cody Heacoxby Cody Heacox 

In the words of assistant flagman Jeff Bunton, the season opener was nothing more than “Bowman Gray Hangover”. Finally, racing has returned to the Madhouse Saturday night for a beautiful sunny day with temperatures in the mid-60s to upper 70s. The gates opened at 6:00 and the fans started to file into the stadium. While fans witnessed a Champion domination, a possible rivalry renewed, a disaster that was waiting to happen all due to the count of cars.

While qualifying for the Hayes Jewelers 200 on Friday. Burt Myers would turn the fastest lap for the Brad’s Golf Cars Modified Series and was set to start on the pole on Saturday, and starting alongside Myers would be rival Tim Brown with Brandon Ward starting the race in third. Ward moved to second place during the first few laps and set his sights on passing Myers for the lead. While Ward would take the outside for 11 double-file restarts, but couldn’t make the pass. As Ward and Myers were battling up front, wrecks would cause havoc throughout the rest of the field. Tim Brown collided with Bobby Measmer as they battled for third. Brown collided with the guard rail.

But turning the night around, Brown would bounce back to a third-place finish. While Chris Fleming at one point was able to jump up to second place. He would bump Measmer, sending him spinning. Fleming later would collide with Jonathan Brown, leaving Brown’s night coming to an end. After going into overtime Burt Myers went on to take the checkered making it his 74th career win, tying him for second with Junior Miller. However, he is still 10 wins behind Brown, the 10-time Modified champion. Ward would finish behind him in second. Tim Brown finished in third and Frank Fleming took fourth.

The Texas Steak & Tap House Sportsman Series put on a show. Michael Adams, Derek Stoltz and John Holleman would battle for the lead and go back and forth for many laps bumping and banging. Holleman and Stoltz would make contact while battling for the top spot after Dylan Ward would get into Holleman causing him to spin Derek Stoltz. Dylan Ward would go on to steal the lead and the win away.

While the field for the Street Stock race was a total of 28 cars would make the field. Leading to a disastrous race. As Taylor Robbins would start on the pole and lead for multiple laps until she was caught up in an accident. Sadly, the race wouldn’t make it the full 20 laps, as they would only get to 8 of the 20 laps due to the curfew. But that didn’t stop Billy Gregg who would sneak through the chaos and find himself at the right place at the right time as he wins the season opener for your Law Offices of John Barrow Street Stock Series.

As for the Q104.1 Stadium Stock Series, Chase Hunt and Wesley Thompson each brought home a victory.

Make sure you come out to the Madhouse to see all the action April 28th . Saturday April 28th 2018 will be $2 dollars ladies night, also the Modified series will battle it out for 100 laps, followed by two 20 lap races. 




1.1 Burt Myers
2.04 Brandon Ward
3.83 Tim Brown
4.40 Frank Fleming
5.5 Randy Butner
6.75 Lee Jeffreys
7.44 Daniel Beeson
8.92 Brody Jones
9.79 George Brunnhoelzl III
10.16 Chris Fleming
11.14 Bobby Measmer Jr.
12.18 Daniel Yates
13.27 Jeremy Gerstner
14.4 Jason Myers
15.12 Mike Norman
16.22 Jonathan Brown
17.5 Danny Bohn
18.53 John Smith

1.70 Dylan Ward
2.55 Zack Ore
3.19 Michael Adams
4.2 Andrew Durham
5.4 John Holleman
6.07 Kevin Neal
7.05 Tony Black
8.86 Taylor Branch
9.18 Kenny Bost
10.12 Justin Taylor
11.02 Derek Stoltz
12.38 Mitch Gales
13.30 Tanner Tilley
14.01 Amber Lynn
15.21 Tommy Neal
16.25 Matt Bodenheimer
17.62 Bubba Tilley
18.92 Kyle Southern
19.68 Robbie Brewer
20.48 Phillip Jones
21.6 Shane Tuttle
22.3 Jeff Garrison
23.14 Terry Thompson

1.28 Billy Gregg
2.1 Christian Joyce
3.72 Bryan Robertson
4.5 Spencer Martin
5.30 Blake Shupe
6.13 Kevin Gilbert
7.97 Jeremy Warren
8.22 Brian Wall
9.99 Bryan Sykes
10.49 Steven Berrier
11.15 Nick Wall
12.16 Brad Lewis
13.98 Nate Gregg
14.66 Mike Evans
15.14 Aaron Hylton
16.40 Taylor Robbins
17.69 Gerald Robinson Jr
18.52 Fletcher Whaley
19.11 Hunter Hutchens
20.51 Raleigh Grant
21.62 Kevin Hedgecock
22.33 Dennis Lanier
23.29 Bradley Potts
24.77 James Allison
25.08 Jacob Creed
26.6 Austin Powell
27.09 David Creed
28.7 Kenneth Stimpson

1.13 Chase Hunt
2.8 Shane Southard
3.24 A.J. Sanders
4.33 DJ Dean
5.47 Tyler McDonald
6.1 Grayson Keaton
7.35 Johnny Baker
8.04 Josh Broome
9.76 Billy Cameron Jr
10.54 Justin Owens
11.49 Shawn Hayes
12.18 Michael Lowery
13.83 T.J. Whaley
14.75 Jeffery Burrow
15.26 K.C. Myers
16.7 Joel Stewart
17.0 Carlos Clifton
18.34 Steven Stoneman
19.69 Brandon Crotts

1.02 Wesley Thompson
2.81 Chuck Wall
3.68 Tyler Bush
4.27 Austin Cates
5.01 Chris Allison
6.23 Andy Spears
7.60 Brad Mickalowski
8.00 Daryl Bryant
9.22 Adam Thomas
10.6 Dale Patterson
11.3 Kyler Staley
12.20 Scarlett Dahmer
13.28 Robert Mabe
14.91 David Houck
15.37 Josh Osborne
16.10 David Hopkins
17.15 Dwayne Bryant
18.2X Brandon Brendle


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Auto Racing